_ The seasons do not seem to affect our lives as much as they did in ancient times but we like to see the changes that are brought by Mother Nature throughout the different times of the year. For instance, my favourite time of the year is autumn because even though I know that winter is just around the corner, with its bone-chilling temperatures and icy winds, I love to savour the hint of chill in the air and the glorious colours around. I love the crisp mornings with the occasional frost covering the ground first thing in the morning, the evenings which often bring the smell of wood fires as the gardeners finish the last of the work before the cold sets in, and best of all, the riot of colours on all the trees and bushes as the leaves change colour.

The gradual shading of the leaves from green to eventual brown, is accompanied by the whole gamut of colours ranging from plain red, russet, orange, yellow, purple and scarlet. Even the browns range from the boring to mahogany and chocolate. It is at this time of the year that my thoughts turn to warm fireplaces and the cosiness of my bed. In the summer I have to use blackout curtains on my bedroom windows because otherwise, the sunlight streams straight in and onto my bed at the most inconvenient times and forces me to have to wake up at stupid o’clock. In the winter, I find that same sunshine comforting and open my curtains at night so as to catch the morning sun.

I love to lie awake on my cheap memory foam mattress and pull my Hungarian goose down duvet up to my chin while I try to convince myself that I really do need to get up. I have always believed in having nice bedding and often hunt out a bed linen sale even out of season. I enjoy resting my head on Hungarian goose down pillows and my previous favourite was a Siberian goose down duvet.

The longer nights at this time of the year mean that I have the excuse of creeping into my bed a lot earlier than in the summer and snuggle up with a good book or even work brought home from the office. I have a pair of cute furry animal slippers which were a birthday present from a good friend and I practically live in them all through the winter and change into them as soon as I walk into the door. These slippers, along with a few woolly socks and a couple of fleecy pyjamas basically make up the bulk of my winter wardrobe when I am at home. at the office, I need to make more of an effort but even then, I find myself looking forward to getting home and snuggling into my Hungarian goose down duvet. Add this to a cup of hot chocolate and it feels wonderful and comforting.




Leave a Reply.