_ People always refer to themselves as being either morning people or night time people. I personally have never met anyone who is happy to get out of bed in the morning, and certainly not in my family, even though I know that they must exist. My father always wakes up fresh but even he would rather like to stay in bed. I have to get up ridiculously early in order to get the children to school on time. I set my alarm a little early so that I can have the satisfaction of hitting the snooze button and pretend that I have a few more minutes. I use that time to actually get my eyes open and my brain in gear.

These days it is harder to get up since the mornings are so cold and dark and my Hungarian goose down duvetseems to grab me and hold me down like an American football player during a tackle. At times like this I regret stopping at that bed linen sale last month and buying a cheap memory foam mattress and some Hungarian goose down pillows, since the comfort that they provide make it even more difficult for me to leave my bed.

Early morning starts have always been a problem for me mainly because I do not manage to get to bed early and when I do eventually fall asleep, my sleep is often disturbed and I wake up feeling groggy and feeling as though I have had no rest at all. For the past couple of months, this problem has gotten steadily worse due to some disturbances in the home which have caused me to have trouble sleeping.

A lot of people resort to taking medication in times of stress in order to be able to function properly and to help them get off to sleep. For some reason I have never taken this route and I think that this aversion to medication could stem from a childhood fear or maybe from having seen my mother taking a lot of medicine for all of her life, for various ailments. Whatever the reason, I always try to find an alternative solution to any problems that I encounter as I go through life.

For a good night’s sleep it is essential that your mind is relaxed as well as your body, otherwise you will find that your brain will remain as active as it has been all day, throughout the night, and you will end up tossing and turning underneath your Hungarian goose down duvet. The best way to handle sleeping problems is to try and deal with whatever the actual problem is or at least try to relax and clear your mind before you get in to bed. A warm bath and a hot milky drink are a popular method of relaxing before bed as is listening to soft music and light reading. Avoid caffeine, alcohol and heavy spicy meals just before you go to bed.




Leave a Reply.